Poets logo

Dear Over Priced Coffee Shops

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Dear Over Priced Coffee Shops
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Dear Over Priced Coffee shops,

Why are you so expensive? I can make my store bought coffee for cheap.

Why do you charge me six dollars for one cup. I have to take out my wallet and dig deep.

I love the convenience of someone making coffee for me, but not the price I have to pay.

If you do not lower the price, I'll keep making my own store bought coffee because I cannot afford to pay. And until I save up a fortune for your expensive convenient brew, it will just have to stay that way.

I wish I had the money to buy your expensive and delicious Cappuccino's, Latte's, espresso's and Americano's and other java's every day. Sadly at your prices, there is just no way.

I'll have to report you to the International Coffee Organization, also known as the ICO. They'll also tell you your prices really blow.

If that doesn't work, there's a lot of people who feel like me. We will all stop buying your overpriced mud and start making our own coffee.

Please lower your daily coffee price. That would be very nice. If we are forced to protest, we will be as cold as ice.

Thank you for acknowledging our price request, we told you we are concerned. If the price of coffee is lowered, then the lesson you have learned.

Sincerely,

Your best customer, Alex.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetryinspirationalchildrens poetryart

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Right on! Home brewed coffee for the win! You can even buy one of those little battery powered milk frothers for under $20. Cappuccinos for days!

  • Omggg, tell me about it! Although I actually prefer making my own coffee, I would love to be able to buy a Starbucks or something once in a blue moon. It's so expensive now. These luxury coffee cost plus minus RM20 (Ringgit Malaysia). With that, I can actually buy a packet of instant coffee that would last me for months. I have no idea why they're so overpriced. It's so ridiculous. What's more ridiculous is the fact that people still buy it! Like you said, the prices will only be lowered if everyone boycotts it!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I agree, that’s why I make my own coffee at home, Folgers Black Silk with vanilla creamer

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Ugh, you are speaking my language! I want to be able to sit at a cafe, drink coffee and people watch, but that's become a luxury for me. I still do it though 😆

  • So relatable ❤️😉💯📝👍

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.