Poets logo

Dear No More

My time under your thumb is done

By Adriana MPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dear No More
Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

Dear No More:

In shadowed rooms of sorrowed years,

My heart wept tears, and time did lend,

This final verse, a farewell blend,

To break the chains, disperse my fears.

Unkind husband, we part today,

No more I'll bear your bitter wrath,

I say to you with no dismay

From now I seek a brighter path,

Our bond has frayed, the threads untwined,

In empty rooms, our love did wane,

And though I've tried, I can't regain,

The tender warmth that once was mine.

For years I've borne this cruel fate,

Endured the storms of ceaseless ire,

Yet, now I seek, my soul afire,

Love a thirst I need to sate.

No longer confined within your cage,

My heart, once tethered, is now set free,

Bravely embracing life, I turn the page

With newfound and overwhelming glee

Your bitter words will haunt no more,

The sting of spite I leave behind,

For in my mind, I'll seek to find,

Someone who loves me to the core

Sincerely

The One that loves you no more

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Adriana M

Neuroscientist, writer, renaissance woman .

instagram: @kindmindedadri

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.