Poets logo

Dear Negligent Narcissist

A Letter From Forever Ignored

By Mary MasavagePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dear Negligent Narcissist
Photo by Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

Dear Negligent Narcissist,

How I have been hurt so.

Have I ever once been so important?

Have I ever once been listened to?

Have I ever once not been ignored,

Cast aside,

Manipulated for your selfish desires?

Why did I have to pretend that everything was fine,

Despite the shattered mirror inside?

Being Atlas as a child, a concept so foreign,

But one to bear and burden.

Facing the ugliness of humanity so young,

Twisted perversion from which no escape.

No pleas or cries could reach humanity,

But only the angels above and their protective gaze,

Spared a graver fate.

The selfishness led to filth, shame, and lies.

All that I to hide deep inside.

The shattered mirror leaving a million scars,

Wounds that forever bleed,

Damage done for so long that costs so much to repair.

Then I have been abandoned,

Cast aside like trash, despite all I have tried.

You are wanting more from strangers than from family,

Literally pushing me away, then saying different.

I bend backwards, only to be betrayed,

But, no more, when you don’t try in return.

No more, no more. This is goodbye, forevermore.

Sincerely,

The Forever Ignored

sad poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.