Poets logo

Dear Mother

xxx

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lithuanian/American Author Marc O'Brien Being Interviewed Christmas 1987 At South Wind Farm In Davie Florida

Dear Mother:

I know of no other

I made a mistake

Down by the crystal lake

A swim I did take

Under the moon light

Glistening and bright

You thought I drowned

Told everyone all over town

Then instead of celebrating with a birthday cake

A bloody scene you did make

I realize you lost your head

After all those nice counselors are now dead

I want to apologize

For that white lie

Starting a curse where many would die

Until I once again

Defend

Our campground

That can be found

When not making a sound

Realizing the New Jersey devil legend was real

Living in-between Voorhees and Haddonfield

Projected on a movie reel

After a paramount deal

Where thirteen are known to squeal.

Dear Mother

There is no other

I sit here waiting to rent a room

Watching such a romantic moon

You have your window

And I know

What you are thinking

When our vacancy light is blinking

Welcoming a visitor or guest

Hoping they will not be a pest

I will offer a key

And through this peep hole I will see

Them shower

During the midnight hour

That is when I will dress up like a girl

Using fashionable pearls

Grab a knife

Honoring your order to take a life

I am sorry about this act

Resulting in putting a body in a sack

When finished with the attack

Only honest intention was protecting your back

Dear Mother, I love you so

Especially when there is another sequel ready to show

Green lighted saying do not ever let it go

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.