Poets logo

Dear Mom, Nightmares Don't Scare Me Anymore...

Hey Mom, I never told you this before...

By Mehek KapoorPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo credits: Unsplash

Hey Mom, I never told you this before, but...nightmares don't scare me anymore.

I still miss how I gave you a tight hug, and all the problems of the world would go away. I wish I had that option even today.

You raised me to become a warrior like you were. But life isn't as kind, or as mellow, but really cruel.

You had me when you were in your twenties. But the thought of having a child scares me, I'm in my thirties.

You sheltered me from all bad things in the world. I wish I could go back to being your little girl.

You sacrificed your career to raise me and went against all odds. When I was in the NICU and sick, and for me, you would even fight the Gods!

Hey Mom, I never told you this before, but...nightmares don't scare me anymore.

Your little girl has grown up to be a woman now. But I never knew growing up would be so hard, somehow.

I always wonder how you were so organized, sought out, and clear in the head. On some days, I barely find the courage to get out of my bed.

The world is not as rosy as in the childhood stories. The role models are scandalous with faded glories.

Why did you let me grow up, sometimes I wonder? Couldn't I be your little girl, for some time longer?

Hey Mom, I never told you this before, but...nightmares don't scare me anymore...

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mehek Kapoor

Writes about UX Design, Travel, Food and Life. Follow to read about life, experiences, opinions, or simply to read stories written from heart!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.