Poets logo

Dear Mom..

I remember

By Theresa M HochstinePublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Dear Mom,

The years have been brutal and the road has been coarse.

I understand you have issues and that I understand.

But I remember those days..

I remember those days where you didn’t get out of bed.

I remember those days when you didn’t hear a word I said.

I remember those days we were never fed.

I remember those days I didn’t have a bed.

As time flutters on and the seasons change,

I find myself revisiting our memories and I find it hard to comprehend.

And it is hard because I remember those nights.

I remember those nights filled with darkness and gloom.

I remember those nights he would sneak into my room.

I remember those nights you ignored my cries to sleep with you.

I remember those nights you led me to my doom.

I bear you no ill will, but I have not yet,

Found a way to forgive you.

My mother died the day she chose,

To protect a rapist before her daughter.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Theresa M Hochstine

I am a stay at home mom who writes for the love of it. I am passionate about writing as it is a constructive way for me to process negative emotions and work through my PTSD. Many of the stories are pulled from nightmares I have had. Enjoy!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Theresa M HochstineWritten by Theresa M Hochstine

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.