Poets logo

Dear Me

Young to Old

By Latoya Giles Published about a year ago 1 min read
4

Dear Latoya,

How are you my dear? What are you up to now? It's been years. I have been wanting to talk to you for so long. I wanted to catch you before life did you wrong. I been here all along...but silent. Maybe I should say I was SILENCED. By who? Don't know. They covered my mouth tight and refused to let go. enough about that mess tho. I am here now. Who am I right? I'm sure you want to know. I don't really have a name. I am your younger self, so I guess our names are the same. Hello Latoya.

First off, thank you for your growth. You have come a long way, I must say, I am proud. I watch you with the girls. I saw how hard it was when each father left. It completely shattered your world. You picked up those pieces each time and pressed on. You didn't show any emotion either, no actions of a woman scorned. Just a single mother adjusting to her new role to successfully raise two young women is the goal. I know you secretly feel like you failed. You think you should be further in life, owning your own home. The girls don't care about any of that! You're being too hard on yourself Toy. Your children love you unconditionally, you bring them joy.

Dang! It's already time for me to go. This wasn't nearly enough time though. We barely scratched the surface. Look, I'll leave you with this: You are a GREAT mom! The girls love you for you. I'm not exaggerating either, just giving credit where it is due...I love you and Trust, I will see you again soon.

Your truly,

Latoya P.

sad poetryinspirationalhow tofact or fictionexcerptsart
4

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Beautiful and poignant!

  • ❤️📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.