Poets logo

Dear Life

Epistolary Poem

By Joelle E🌙Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
Dear Life
Photo by Akira Hojo on Unsplash

Dear my Life,

I’m doing better

I wrote it down and sent a letter

Hoping it’ll get to you

Praying that the call goes through

It’s been seven years of down and out.

I still don’t know what it was about

But I know I’m here now, and I’m fine

Breathe in. Breathe out. All things in time

Do you hear me when I call to you?

Do you watch when I sit, and wait for you?

The truth is, Life, I’m done with waiting

It’s been more than a bit frustrating

And my blood is raging in my skin

To bring forth all that stirs within

And to drink fresh water from your well.

I know you hear me.

Sincerely,

Joelle

performance poetry
9

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Rapping a Joelle rhyme there. So cute. Grabbing life by the horns. It is about time. Go get em.

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Holy Lord you even rhymed your name, what an amazing surprise finish. This is beautiful. And here's your pace again (as mentioned on your moth/butterfly piece). Profound and striking. Inspiring. Thank you for sharing this part of yourself with us. I would say 'i'm sorry' for the path you have had to walk... but from the sound of this piece, it would seem you have found a fair amount of light in the storm... and are gaining the strength you need for something. Our world can't wait to see what that is.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Nicely done. And your name fitting it with the rhyme was a nice touch at the end.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.