Poets logo

Dear life,

why

By Kari McLeesePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dear life,
Photo by Andy Holmes on Unsplash

Dear life,

Why must you be so fleeting,

so resounding, so unsure?

So full of questions,

unanswered and unknown?

Why must you grow,

give new hope,

love,

then fly away,

leaving all in terror,

heartbroken?

When all around me

blooms and blossoms,

why must I live

in darkness?

You give beauty.

You give joy.

Why must you also destroy,

take away,

cause despair?

Why tease us with brilliance,

then flood us with disease?

Answer me life,

what is my purpose?

My meaning?

Where do I belong,

and

why?

Quietly awaiting your

response,

Me

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kari McLeese

teacher, wife, mom, bibliophile

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.