Poets logo

Dear Life

Sorry, I’m Not Sorry

By Trina GarnerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Life

By Trina Garner

Dear Life,

I’m not sorry that things didn’t go your way

That I have a brain, a heart, an intuition, a God.

You thought low self esteem would cause me to flow your way

Which it did until I had kids

You thought you’d get them and tie them up with depression, anxiety and fear; the way you did me

You thought because I have five that I couldn’t manage to give them the tools they need

Oh life, I’m not sorry that things didn’t go your way

I’m not sorry that the five gave me strength and power

Those beautiful faces inspired me to find a better me

They needed me to be a freer me

Oh life because of them you’ve pushed me into some very uncomfortable nooks and crannies

But in that and because of them I found out how to be an unconventional me

I’ve had to reinvent me to show you and to teach them that, you life, will never defeat me.

So yes life, I am sorry that I’m not sorry

That my GOD has risen above you

HE has drawn a diagram for me to move around you

HE has taken the key to unlock every trap set by you

HE has given us a playbook on how to defeat you

HE has given us access to a Place to hide while we catch our second wind in this battle to overthrow you

And guess what life, my five - Jade, Pryia, Xachary, Xavier and Acacia - are not only equipped, qualified, armed and ready

They are building their teams

They are reproducing their strength

They are discovering the importance of their playbook and accessing their Place of shelter

They and their teams are standing side by side with their mama

All the issues you threw at me, I know you threw them their way too

You even added a few

But still I’m not sorry life, they’ve been taught how to deflect your darts

How to side step out of your doubts

They’ve been taught to move through depression

To speak to anxieties

To act in procrastination

To speak up in harassment

And to fight for righteousness

So you see life, I’m not sorry that you’ve attacked me the way you do

Cause every attack, every fight, every battle

Has caused me to be stronger

To believe more

To fight harder

To be a greater example

Every low place you’ve driven me to

Has catapulted me to a higher level

And now I think I should say thank you life

For helping me to be a better me

A greater me

A freer me

A stronger me

A more independent me

A more loving me

For helping them to be a much more awesome them

And for helping us to see how much more we need

Our GOD the Father

Our GOD the Son

And Our GOD Holy Spirit

You did it dear life, so here’s to you

Thank you Life,

It’s been worth the strife

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Trina Garner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.