Poets logo

Dear King Charles

Ideas to Brighten Up The Coronation

By Jeremy HallPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Dear King Charles
Photo by Chris Boland on Unsplash

Dear King Charles, whom we await,

I, a child of humble state,

Pen this missive with delight,

To share my thoughts, both small and bright.

*

I've heard the news, it's quite a stir,

A coronation to occur.

In May it comes, the time is near,

I've got ideas, so lend your ear.

*

First things first, oh noble King,

The crown you sport, I'm wondering,

Would not a propeller beanie be,

More fun to wear, more fancy-free?

*

Your velvet robe, so rich and grand,

Does it not weigh you down like sand?

I'd like to propose a great idea,

A superhero onesie, for the King of the year!

*

Your regal steed, a gallant sight,

On coronation day, alight.

But have you thought, oh King-to-be,

A donkey ride, much more carefree?

*

The feast you'll have, a wondrous spread,

With dishes fancy, gold and red.

But don't you crave a simpler taste,

A pizza party, laid to waste?

*

Your knights will stand, all proud and tall,

In shining armour, they'll enthrall.

But wouldn't it be a lark, my King,

If they dressed as cowboys, wrangling?

*

The music played, so grand and stately,

Might need something else, a bit more cheery.

Ed Sheeran’s free, or so I hear,

Well, that would surely, raise a cheer!

*

Now, King Charles, I hope you find,

These childish thoughts bring joy to mind.

The coronation day in May,

Could use some laughter’s what I say.

*

So heed these words, oh future King,

Embrace the mirth that children bring.

In hope your reign is bright and fine,

Sincerely yours, Tim Smith, aged nine.

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeremy Hall

A writer and poet, initially inspired by helping my daughter with her schoolwork. I bring a unique voice and vivid imagery to every piece to provoke thought and evoke emotion.

Join Vocal+ now!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Susanna Kiernan11 months ago

    This gave me a giggle :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.