Poets logo

Dear Inmate #R47515

#VocalNPM

By Elina SanchezPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1
Last Letter Received of 2018...

Tio,

I’m not sure how to start this off.

But I just wanna say...

Keep your head up, because I know you hear them demons lurking on the side

Keep your smile on, because you always have me on your side

We know you are innocent, never wanting to do any hard time, but now you are stuck facing a crime you didn’t commit

That street that you were on?

Not even close to the truth.

But we all know how the system is

Another minority locked up, because he’s brown and has a few tattoos.

Another minority locked in, because he's not white or in a suit.

Mama said we used to have to watch your back, because of the fools on the streets.

But now you gotta watch your back because of the police.

To serve and protect is what they say but we all know, it’s all about locking people up and getting paid.

The whites are released left and right

While the blacks and Latinos have to put up a fight

Because of the color of our skin

because their money stands tall, our nation is divided again by who is big and who is small

Just another minority trying to speak for those who can’t be heard because they’re stuck sitting in the cell cut off from the whole world.

Now I’m not even sure how to start this off but I’m going to just say "we love you, and miss you every day."

We will never stop fighting this fight of needing justice for our people in every way.

Love,

Lil Lina.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Elina Sanchez

Just trying to juggle my career, school, and attempt to have a social life.

Writing is something I've always had a passion for but I rarely find time.

Now I am making time for my passions.

Instagram: @elina.sanch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.