Poets logo

Dear Grandma

You Left Too Soon...

By Latoya Giles Published about a year ago 1 min read
1

Dear Grandma Delois,

OMG! I miss you so much, let's start. How are you grandma? What's it like up there? Are there any crystal stairs? Clouds everywhere? I do wish you were still down here. Just being honest. You got to meet my oldest daughter. She was eight when you went away. Guess what? I had another baby. I have two girls now, you missed her by about a year. I did the math, I got pregnant with her on Halloween. Next July, she was here. You know what, I have something to ask because I wanna know. What happened that day? The day you had to go. They said the cause of death was a heart attack. By "they", i mean the hospital and doctors. Is it true? You were lying on the floor near the phone. Reaching for the phone to call for help, is that what you were trying to do? A small amount of blood was found near by. It was ruled natural causes, so no autopsy. But why? Yes you took a beta blocker, but did you have serious heart problems before? Less than a year in North Carolina before you died. So many tears we cried. Here in Baltimore you were good. It has been 9 years. I still can't read the obituary. I cry too much. I'm still sad you left me, left us. I love you so much. You mean the world to us, to me. I will see you again, until then, continue to rest in peace...

With Love,

Your Granddaughter

sad poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptsart
1

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Great job! Keep up the fantastic work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.