Poets logo

Dear Gentle-man

I've decided you are a myth

By Karina MaysPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I waited for you to come in the night. I couldn't sleep and not because it was bright.. because every noise I heard gave me a fright.

This term gentle-man never felt right. A man has never been gentle with me in his life. And yet here I am wishing upon his might, wishing their was a gentlemen who would make it alright.

Not looking for a knight despite what it sounds like,

accountability - loyalty - strength under pressure - some one beyond measure - with values even the elders could treasure.

My father issues seep through, into every room.

My therapist says I have to stop laughing it off. I scoff.

Comedy eases the dramedy.

Easing other people around trauma is my life's work.

I am tired of sugar coating the places where it hurts.

I am no longer living in fear of their stares

But lets get back to why I stacked the chairs.

They call women like me cynical, feminist, a man eater/hater. There are many names for people like me. A side they don't see. The vulnerability.

It's a tough girl act, I got my own back until its dark, in a corner, and I'm alone at that. Being accused of overreacting can be a very bad thing.

Men who are not so, gentle-men like, is a sad thing.

It crept up on me though. From moments of being a little girl. I fed myself a line for years, they can't all be this way don't waste your tears.

But in my personal experience they are..

A father who grew up down the street from me building another family. Lubricating his wounds with beer. It's his loud bellowing voice I hear.

An uncle who moved on me inappropriately. Another who fed me cocaine until I was practically insane. Only to hold me in his arms, refusing to get me help as I feared I would die. As he prayed for my life he said I would be alright. I really had no intention of continuing this as a rhyme. Its a coping mechanism, I find.

I married a man I thought was divine, who met every criteria.. still, he left me in hysteria. Emotional abuse leaves a mark, long lasting and deep.

I wonder now if I'll ever soundly sleep.

Instead I set up traps for intruders, I check every lock, I double check incase I forgot that I forgot. I pace each room once or twice. I kiss my kids goodnight. I jolt myself awake, at any rate because I've been conditioned to never feel safe ....without a man...

If only they could have been a little gentler when extending their hands.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Karina Mays

stay open — be brave — write it all out

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.