Poets logo

Dear Ego, Crawl, and Fall

Ego vs. Heart, a timeless battle

By NMGPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Dear Ego, Crawl, and Fall
Photo by Mathilda Khoo on Unsplash

Ego crawling up

Digging every nail

Deeper than the last grasp

As it climbs up my spine

Convincing me I'm not enough

Miracles are not real

Wins are not in sight

Shut up

Blood dripping down my back

Each scratch

Each bruise

Formed painfully and slow

As I battle this ego of mine

Telling me I'm not enough

While it crawls higher up my spine

Digging its nails deeper than the last grasp

Looking for my heart

Lost in the dark

Where’s the light

When I need it most

Where’s my heart

Where’s hope

Where’s the positivity I’ve always known

While this ego is consuming me whole

Layer by layer

Ripping me apart

Telling me Im not enough

Guess what

I’ve been here before

Battle scars all over

Take a look

I am stronger than I look

Take your best shot

Make me bleed

Nail by nail,

Go ahead and crawl

You’ll fall

Ego you’re not winning

My heart is of gold

My discipline of iron

My determination of stone

Go ahead ego

Crawl

You’ll slip and fall

Over the blood already spilled and conquered

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

NMG

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.