Poets logo

Dear Diary

The path I chose

By Esther AmiPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels

I've got my pen in my hand

Ready to pick up where I left off

Hoping this will be an entry worth noting

I'm staring down this blank sheet and asking myself what could possibly be new

How's my life changed from when I was last here

I've got nothing to share or do I?

Let me try in the next few sentences to explain, see if you can understand why I pen these thoughts

If you can follow my life from where we were to where I am now

There's a path I'm looking at

A road I traveled to get where I am and it makes no sense to me how I got here

A part of me believes I blinked and look

Here I am

I wonder about my life, dear Diary, and whether I can proudly say I did it

Can I tell myself it's okay to be where I am?

Can my present self appreciate my past self for the decisions she made?

Can my future self accept that the path I chose led to my present state and could possibly invariably contribute to where I end up some years to come?

I sit here wondering to myself

And a part of me shudders at the thought

What if I could have traveled a different path?

What if I could have made a second choice

Looking back, I can remember I met a crossroad

I think back and realize, I could have considered the decision much farther than I did

This feels like I am drowning

Sinking in my own thoughts; no support for me

I am failing myself and I don't know how to get back on the road

Did I take the right turn or do I live with learning where this path leads?

sad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.