Poets logo

Dear Daughter

With love from Mommy

By Latoya Giles Published about a year ago 1 min read
1

Dearest daughter,

To my oldest daughter...you are number one of my two. How much I truly do love you. I hope you knew, or know to this day. This letter is long overdue, there is so much to say. You are 17 now my dear. You grew up so fast. The time has just flown past. For so long, it was just me and you. Being a mother was, and still is my life. I tried my best to protect you. I never spoke poorly of your dad. Even when he stood you up and made you sad. As you grew, you saw him, his family and the situation for what it is. You have always been a clever kid. You are so smart. So beautiful and extremely talented. Your artwork is outta world! I am so proud of you baby girl. I know you have insecurities and abandonment issues too. It's ok, you are great and excel at everything you do. You are the blueprint. You taught we how to be a mom. We pretty much grew up together. I regret NOTHING! We are birds of a feather.

With Love,

Mommy

listinspirationalhow tofact or fictionexcerpts
1

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Terrific work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.