Poets logo

Dear Daddy...

For 13 years of my life, you were there.

By MelPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dear daddy,

For 13 years of my life, you were there.

For 13 years of my life, you were the man I went to

for smiles, laughs, and giggles.

For 13 years of my life, you were my savior.

So, why did you leave?

Why did you have to pass away before

seeing your little girl accomplish all those a

father wishes for their little girl to accomplish?

You missed out on me starting high school.

You missed out on me graduating from

high school.

You missed out on me starting college.

You left me,

your own little girl,

only because you didn't love my mother.

You chose to abandon your child due to lack of love

and all you left me, when you left,

was a piece of ripped paper reading 'I'm sorry'.

No verbal apology.

No asking if I was okay.

No asking how I felt about all of it.

I've spent my teenage years

afraid to love.

I was afraid to get close to any guy

in fear that they would leave,

just like you once did.

I loved you, dad.

I loved you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.