Poets logo

Dear Brother

A poem on mental illness, addiction in family

By Emily S.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I could unsee

The way I look at it now

And I know over the last few months, it’s gotten a little worse

Now that we live in the same home

And we’re blood related. I can tell

When you’re down

And I knew before that you were isolated, withdrawn

But I thought it was shyness

I had hope, little brother

The only one in our family so far

Without an active addiction

But there is a sadness, a loneliness

Are the medications you’re taking

Making you numb to life

And the two of you have been smoking more and more

And usually there is a laughter and lightness when you’re high

But I haven't seen that lately

You’ve been home more, without a job

But somehow I also see you less lately

I don’t know how you really are, what’s causing all the pain

Lost in the dark, withdrawn

And I also know, because I was young before

I thought I could help myself

By drinking and smoking the pain away

And I didn’t want or know how to talk about it either

And I know, because we were both neglected

By our alcoholic mother

Distant, ignorant fathers

Feeling unworthy, like who’s paying attention anyways

We’re here, little brother

We’ve been here

We’ve been through the dark days

You’ll get through them too

I know you have to figure it out on your own

You’ll see the light again

I pray you will

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.