Poets logo

Dear Brother

An honest letter to a sibling that's left destruction in his wake.

By M. EdwardsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Dear Brother
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Dear brother,

I know, deep down, that you can be better.

Six months since the knock to the door of your flat, six months of me fighting for breath.

Tonight, I need air, so I write you this letter.

Recognise all of these pieces you’ve left.

Adrift is our family, floating off shore, preoccupation as we tread your waters,

Clasping at straws, a frothing of maw, you’ve damned the bloodline like witches to slaughter.

Thinking of you clouds my mind and my soul, whilst you sleep your way through the storm.

I rue the day that our mother is damned whilst I strike the matches to keep our blood warm.

Oh brother, look at the mess that you’ve made, look at the feelings we burden.

Nothing can change what the world has forbade, nothing can change what you’ve done.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

M. Edwards

Writing for the sake of writing. I love bizarrely niche essays, fiction and recently, poetry. Not a professional - yet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.