Poets logo

Dear best friend

—-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
6
Dear best friend
Photo by Doğukan Şahin on Unsplash

Dear best friend,

Good morning,

19 hours of purgatory for the long letter I sent you yesterday. I was so nauseous and had such a terrible migraine that one letter was all I could do. I’m so sorry. I was throwing up until late last evening until I finally had hot tea and ate something. It was bad. I’ll be talking to my doctor on Monday. Hopefully I can get more answers.

I know my poetry has been sad but it is more cathartic for me than anything. I am trying to be honest about myself but it’s hard. I want to write happy things, but I eventually lean to the sad.

I watched The Squid and the Whale by Noah Baumbauch yesterday while I took care of my little one. Wes Anderson produced it. It was such a simple story about divorce but so elegantly and honestly told. The oldest boy tells a story about a time he and his mom left a party to watch Robin Hood. It’s really the highlight of the film. Very good. I recommend it to you. I have been trying to watch new things because I watch the same old things over and over again for comfort reasons. I watch “I’m thinking of Ending Things,” a hundred times and “Phantom Thread,” a thousand times. Those are my comfort films now. I know you watch the Bachelorette. I haven’t seen that show recently, but I do remember watching that show when I was a teenager. What other stuff do you watch? My son and I watch West Side Story a lot.

Hopefully my other letter comes in soon.

Hope you are well. I hope you have a great day and write smoothly and church goes wonderful!

Talk to you soon!

Love,

Melissa

excerpts
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Migraines are the absolute worst 😭❤️ hoping you are feeling well! I rewatch things for comfort all the time too.

  • Vocal purgatory again?

  • Good morning,Friend ❤️😊I feel this one deeply and there is always room for happiness even if you decide to push love throughout your characters it will put more Happy love inside of you‼️ Poetry can be what we make it💕🌈 Give it Some Love-

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I honestly feel this Dear Best Friend is talking to me feel. I enjoy your series. I can’t wait to open the letter and see what is in it. Looking forward to the next one . 🥰Happy Sunday

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.