Poets logo

Dear best friend

--

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
4
Dear best friend
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Dear best friend,

I got your two letters! Yes, I hate purgatory for their system. It can make a simple letter take forever to get into someone's hands.

I can see you in the car watching the fireworks! Lol awwww that is so cute 👌😅I almost want to use that for a character! I am glad you got to spend most of the day with your son and writing. That's a good thing! I appreciate your worry and thoughts for me and my day & night. I hope you had a great time with your kids and saw some cool fireworks! I often hope for you to have good days and nights too.

We didn't do any fireworks this year. Nothing. It was a bit depressing. But, it makes sense because that's how it usually was for most of my time in the raven nest. No fun, only hell. It's because of my imminent departure, I believe. Even as we are pretending everything is “normal,” whatever that means, it feels like death in this house. It's felt like that anyway for 14 years. But, carrying around a dead relationship for that long is tiring and exhausting and painful. Wretched, is more the correct word. I feel wretched.

That hot or cold thing is something I am fully aware of with mine. The lukewarm sensation.... Even worse. One day, as I warned them, they'll regret the way they treated me. Well, they do. But, it's too late. I feel for your preacher that day may come too late as well, who knows. You never appreciate what you have until its missing or too late. My deep apologies for his un-gentleman like behavior toward you. You deserve so much better. A happy and loving and joyful relationship full of love and trust and open communication.

On lighter news, my sister had her baby today. Her first baby! A boy. We are very happy. I'll see him soon, today.

Talk to you soon!

Love,

Melissa

excerpts
4

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    Congratulations! (A bit late, I know, as I've already seen the picture of you holding Winston--I think that's his name if I remember correctly.)

  • Great letter and A Baby Boy 👶 ❤️😊

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Another wonderful letter! I didn't do any fireworks either. 🥹❤️ Thank you for writing these! 🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.