Poets logo

Dear best friend

—-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
5
Dear best friend
Photo by Surface on Unsplash

Dear best friend,

I’m with my family. But the damn Raven is suffocating me even while I’m out. I’m trying to just relax, but it’s hard. We tried to go downtown but it's way to hot outside and way too packed full of people. It's ridiculous but that's how these holidays go and down town is always extremely popular. I understand your feelings about large gatherings. Life and people are so unpredictable. It's a good strategy that feels safer to stay home than go out, and that's something I can appreciate and understand. For me, at least for the last 14 years, it was safer to go out than stay at home. Getting treated like garbage physically and mentally and emotionally was the usual up until two months ago when I am trying to leave. Now, they are trying harder than ever to keep me from going even hiding their fury and trying to be nicer.

Anyway, I loved your story about T! It was heartwarming and I laughed about what your rebuttal was to the snarky rude teacher who compared you to his ginger wife! They were rude AF Lol you are so funny and honest. And the “you know you like black girks” 😆 I loved it. I have a feeling that was a missed connection(you tried to call him but he might have missed the call?) but maybe for the best? It seems like a sweet memory from how you expressed it.

I gave crushes on women and men. I like blonde guys but I also like goth guys/girls with eye makeup and tall skinny surfer dudes who play hackey sack and also guys with suits lol. Race isn't a factor for me. I'll fall in love with who I love. I Like who I like. I have liked many types and shapes and all human adults are equal to me if they are kind and likeable.

Anyway, I loved hearing your stories from your life.

Talk to you soon

Love,

Melissa

excerpts
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    Blessings, whether in or outside of the home.

  • I love this letters series, although I have lots to catch up on. I am referencing it in my latest story. Thank you for this Sis

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Very nicely written. There's such a strong sense of sincerity in thus piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.