Poets logo

Dear Anxiety.

Overwhelming Sadness.

By Allandra-MPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Dear Anxiety.
Photo by Christopher Ott on Unsplash

This poem is dedicated to anyone struggling with anxiety. Remember, “It’s okay to be scared. Being scared means you’re about to do something really, really brave. - Mandy Hale.

Dear anxiety, why can’t you leave me alone?

Why did you let my panic attacks take full control?

Dear anxiety, I want to stop feeling this way.

The emptiness and guilt trips everyday.

My heart skips a beat when I’m in danger.

I can’t think straight, my mind strays.

Dear anxiety, why can’t I stop overthinking?

“Am I too annoying? I can guarantee they are going to walk out of my life one day”

Dear anxiety, I push people away because of you.

I’m distant and private, I tend to not get close because I’m tired of getting hurt.

I don’t know whether they love me or just pretending.

Whether they genuinely care or an exploiter.

Dear anxiety, I can’t sleep at night.

I’m having flashbacks and nightmares.

Worrying about my future.

Will I ever be great?

I hate failing, I just want to be successful and happy.

Dear anxiety, why am I awkwardly shy?

I’m quiet and jovial but you’re still getting in the way!

Why did you choose me?

Why did you choose to take over my whole existence?

Dear anxiety, at least I know you won’t leave.

You and I are in this together.

I don’t have a choice, I’m stuck with you forever.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Allandra-M

Welcome to my world💫

Writing is my therapy🦋

-Aspiring Army Nurse & Nurse Practitioner👩🏾‍⚕️💉

- Mental Health Advocate💪🏾❤️🧠

-Inquire: [email protected]

-Instagram: @thegiftedauthor

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨.

All rights reserved©

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.