Poets logo

Daylight, Dew, And You

A poem about my childhood best friend

By Amber Van WortPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Daylight, Dew, And You
Photo by Jonas Weckschmied on Unsplash

Daylight, Dew, And You

The fields are drenched in daylight and dew.

I remember when

I would come here with you

We'd lay on our backs,

our hair getting wet

These precious moments, I won't soon forget.

Your eyes would open wide

like a child,

as we ran through the trees--free and wild.

I'd reach for your hand,

You'd reach for mine, too

In the springtime fields,

Drenched in daylight and dew.

About The Poem

I wrote this poem while reflecting on all the time I spent with my childhood best friend just lying in a field somewhere talking about how alive we felt. I miss these years, when we didn't perceive time as something that is quickly slipping away but, instead, saw time expanding endlessly in front of us, ripe with possibilities and outcomes and dreams. Ours for the taking.

FriendshipFree Verse

About the Creator

Amber Van Wort

Novice poet--currently wide open to accepting feedback of any kind in the comments!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amber Van WortWritten by Amber Van Wort

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.