Poets logo

Day Five Of A Poem A Day In February

A recap of my great adventure living in poetry and rhyme!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago β€’ 3 min read
4
Day Five Of A Poem A Day In February
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

It is day five today! Only twenty-three more days to go. The countdown has begun! I don't think about it until I am out there writing alone. Then it occurs to me that maybe others won't join in. Then it happens, another writer, that is better than I am.

Oh, I realized I wasn't breathing as I take in a huge breath!

I did not know I would be so affected by no joiners! Good to know. Maybe I need to do more work upfront? Encouraging all of my poetry/rhyming group to be there or be square! No, that would never do. I want it to be fun for others too!

On day one, we rhyme. After all, I started writing a Poem a Day in February (PaDiF/padif) because a grandson wanted me to rhyme more in the rap songs I was writing for him. That all went by the wayside that first year when a medicine man rapper, told me I should stick to spoken word!

I still work on my rhyme. When I am all through in February, I am speaking in rhyme all of the time!

Day 1 - A Poem a Day in February (padif)

It is rhyming time again

And this will be no bargain

A bit of a struggle to get it out

I'm not feeling well, I want to shout

Just a little rhyme

for us this time.

Rhyming is what I do best.

I do not jest.

Better than some poetry format,

just put on my thinking hat

darn COVID can interfere.

Yes, COVID is here.

Right off the top of my head,

most rhymes will come, instead.

COVID has me hesitate,

and that will make this late.

I love my time in February.

With all of you, it's better than January.

So please join, our first contest

it will be a test,

to see who can introduce a new form.

I found a couple recently out of the norm.

Today we rhyme, tomorrow the new forms.

Just until the weekend, 2 days of storms.

Back to bed for me for now if

you wish to send a prayer, to finish this padif.

Day 2 & Day 3 - A contest was announced and my entry was a Twittle. A newer form that is alive and well in Medium. The contest was for a newer form or unusual format. The others that showed up in the two-day contest were diamante, alphabet, epitaph, twittle, clerihew. They all won!

Day 4- Winners announced and then a sonnet for the day! Very quiet day.

Day 5 - Limerick day. Should be fun! It is only beginning. Here is the first post of the day.

Day 5 - Poem a Day in February

Limerick - 1st, 2nd, and 5th lines rhyme as do the 3rd and 4th lines with each other. This can be sassy, crass, or just for fun.

Seven years ago today I retired.

Now, many days I am just tired.

I work part-time now.

I gave up full-time and anyhow,

February is the month I get inspired.

There will of course be more to come. Stay tuned for much more fun! As the years go by it is easy to see the improvement of others. Not so much of my changes. It is fine as just off the top is what I enjoy most. Sometimes there is a surprise and I'm grateful for those!

This month is always a great adventure and I am never sure what I will see or experience. That may be the best part. I know for sure it helps me with a daily writing habit and I always get to do some grief work. That is what poetry does for me. How about you?

how toinspirationalexcerpts
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You are a poem expert. Enjoy learning a lot from you. I often think your poem can turn into a rap song . Wow. I will try to watch for your poem challenge on my Facebook feed

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Well done. Good luck

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Love thisπŸ’•πŸ’–

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.