Poets logo

Davy Jones

Day Of Reconning

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Davy Jones
Photo by Samantha Kennedy on Unsplash

**

Slid up under the door

softly, without a sound

a postcard on the floor

waiting there to be found

No sirens to alarm me

no warning it gave

seemingly carefree

a message sent from the grave

It read, remember the sandcastles

built tall under the sun

The red and blue tassels

before the storm had begun

The call of the wind chimes

and the songs the birds sang

Recalling the good times

echoing loves sweet gentle pang

Then the door was flung open

fear escaped from my mouth

Evil had awoken

I heard deaths deep, hollow growl

No-one left to save me

I surrendered my will

And was drug out to sea

under Davy Jone's swill

The past never forgets

the sea always remembers

You will pay for your debts

in hell's deep burning embers

surreal poetryheartbreakfact or fiction

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Anna 5 months ago

    Amazing poem! Well done!🥰

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    I'm loving the dark eery vibe of this!! And that ending is awesome!!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very beautiful and raw. " a message sent from the grave It read, remember the sandcastles built tall under the sun"- this hits me deep.

  • So poignant and emotional! I especially loved the ending!

  • "Signed, sealed, delivered, I'm yours," would be the response if there was opportunity for one.

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    Quite the piece of artistry in words.

  • Wow!!! 'I surrendered my will And was drug out to sea under Davy Jone's swill' I always love references to Davy Jone's locker!

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    A swift, well delivered, excellent piece. I was swept away. Good Luck! Wonderful!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.