Poets logo

Daughter

#NPM

By Michelle SchultzPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

DAUGHTER

I drank away my pain last night,

On my one night off a week.

You scream to let me know,

I don’t get time to sleep.

My head is pounding,

My body aches,

But I’m up at five,

Reading to you,

And playing games.

You throw your bottle,

Hit me in the face.

You slow my progress daily,

As you increase yours.

I never dreamed I’d be,

A single mom at twenty-three,

Doing this alone is like a bad dream

Coming true.

But aside from all the headaches,

All the bills past due,

Every dirty look,

And all the sleepless nights too,

Life would be a nightmare,

If I didn’t have you.

If I didn’t have little toes to kiss,

And a smile to get me by,

Even though it looks like your dad’s,

That smile makes me push through.

You saved my life and don’t even know,

I may have given you the gift of life,

But life gave me the gift of you.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.