Poets logo

Darkness

A life with out color or light.

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Darkness engulfs me.

I scramble for a torch but the winds are too strong.

Flickers of light evade my sight.

Leaving only macabre like endless dark halls.

I cling to cold damp mildew scented walls.

Empty echoes, shrieks of agony, and long bellows in the hollows surround me as I search for something to guide me.

Fear and unrest fill my soul.

I sit in silence amongst the wailing cries waiting for these emotions to subside.

Struggle on or give up and die.

Could I still find my prize without the use of my eyes.

Succumb to the darkness inside or fight to survive.

These are the questions that wage war in my mind.

Still I can’t help but feel I’m slowly running out of time.

And with each passing day every hope and inspiration begins to feel more and more like lies.

It’s easy to lose hope when black is the only color you see when you open your eyes.

They ask me to write about color and in the end wonder why my only reprieve would be my very demise.

For what’s life without color?

To never know the sun, or a rainbows bliss after it breaks thru the grey cloudy shadowy abyss.

To never know this I might as well never exist.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.