Poets logo

Darkness

Always Lurking

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
11
Darkness
Photo by Hannah Wright on Unsplash

I feel its darkness lurking. I know it is there, so I expect it. Even so, I am never prepared for it. It's black, twisted vines reaching out like tentacles from some ancient sea beast. The vines ensnare me, grappling my legs and wrists the whole time, pulling me ever closer to the darkness. Suffocating, all-enveloping darkness. A place where my mind is no longer my own.

This darkness tells me what to feel, how to think. It traps me in bouts of crippling anxiety, crushing down on my chest. This darkness tells me everyone is out to get me and to trust no one. It says things like "they will always hurt you" and "people just want to use you." It presents me with an alternate set of truths and facts, all distorted and all hopeless. The darkness tells me that I don't need sleep. It tells me I can take on the world, that I am powerful, unstoppable, and a force of nature. It makes me think I am invincible. It tells me that it doesn't matter that I hurt people. It is just collateral damage for being the greatest. The darkness reminds me of my sexual desires. It keeps those desires front and center. The thoughts and desires of sex can be all-consuming.

Then, when my world is in chaos and turmoil, and I can't fight my way out of the darkness, it whispers in my ear that I am all alone. It whispers to me that I should run. Leave my life behind me. Everyone is better off without me anyway. It reminds me of all my failures. All of my mistakes. It is as if the darkness is in me now. I try to fight it. I am aware that it has grabbed hold of me. I reach out to others to try and find the light again. I hold on to ideas of love and truth and facts as long as I can. I can't untangle the vines that ensnare me anymore. And when I think all is lost, and this place in the darkness is where I will always dwell, the vines loosen. And as quickly as they grabbed me, pulled me in, and tried to keep me there, they withdraw.

The darkness is gone, but I can still feel it lurking. I try to regain control of my mind and repair all the damage that was done. I fight back any lingering untruths and distorted realities. My mania doesn't bring me to lofty mountain tops. It swallows me into the dark valleys, where I am alone. Scared. Tired. And each time I make it back from the darkness, a little bit of me is lost. It stays there. I know there will be another trip into the darkness soon enough. It fills me with dread. I am screaming out at the top of my lungs, "Don't let me get lost in the dark forever." I don't know who I am screaming to, and there is never a response. And so I wait for the darkness to come again.

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Wonderful

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    So sorry you experience this but the poetry that came from it is incredible!

  • C. H. Richard8 months ago

    Thank you for writing a piece that expresses how difficult dealing with anxiety or bipolar depression can be. Many hearts for this one ♥️ ❤️ ♥️

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    I can imagine the feeling , excellent creation

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    I hadn't read this one before (IKR!?) How brave of you to face the darkness and call it out for all to see. Love, J

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.