Poets logo

Darkest Blue

Poem on infertility

By Bríg MayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image of an ocean shore

The depths of my infertility

I imagine were blue.

Nooo,

Not sky blue.

Dark blue.

The part of the ocean

You can’t explore.

Beyond that.

A blue you can’t even

Comprehend,

Lit up only by the light

Of a creature

You fear to discover.

The creature’s light

I imagine is yellow.

A buried ray of sunshine

Far below the surface.

I thought only monsters lived

This deep.

The surface it guided me towards

I imagine is green.

You know that green

You think is blue,

But really it’s green?

Yet you put your hand through it

To discover really

There’s no color

At all.

You surface.

You breathe.

You persevere.

You swim.

In blues,

And greens,

Then purple,

Then grays,

A red boat,

An orange fruit,

Goodness.

A world of colors now

From the monster

I followed

In the darkest of blues.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Bríg May

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.