Poets logo

Dark

....

By Harydo NeonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
1

I feel something growing deep within me

Encroaching towards everything that once made me happy

Always thinking about the negatives in every situation

To the point where I can't control it, it has become an addiction

They said light comes at the end of the tunnel

But what if my tunnel is just single open-ended?

What if happiness doesn't show up and I am comforted by sorrow?

I wish I could pay to be happy but I cant afford it either though

I don't know if it's the darkness that has kept me alive thus far

Have I given it a seat in my heart with no strings attached?

Now I can barely even sleep without having nightmares in between

Sometimes waking up in tears saying " oh God , are you even listening?"

I try every time to leave but I still see myself in this same battle field

I am tired of asking for a sign because even if I see it , I don't seem to yield

Then I resort to drinking , not much to get drunk but enough to hang onto memories

Maybe reminisce the good days and my mistakes that led to where I am mentally

Empathy is still there but barely

numb to emotions, threading carefully

feeling like everyone close to me is drunk on pretence

Oh what I would give to be refunded my innocence

The darkness just keeps getting darker

But I am still fighting while low on energy in my might

If there is hope, let it find me faster

I mean the darker the darkness, the brighter the light , right?

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Harydo Neon

I drain my thoughts through my pen. That's the only way I breathe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.