Poets logo

Dark shadow light

Red green blue

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Dark shadow light
Photo by Nathan Fertig on Unsplash

how can you hold onto a memory you never had?

How can you believe in a dream you never could grasp?

How is it so hard to see that you turn my red green blue

Into dark shadow light

And that my heartsong is drained into your colorless spite?

How do you fall into the deep river of shadow and not drown? How do you claw onto

My very vocal cords and make our light go up and down?

It’s flickering into dark, but it fades into shadow.

You like gray, it fits with your face.

You like light, it helps you erase

The dark.

I sink into my never-born memory

Of red green blue

A bell of ever shining colors

While now I realize, instead,

I’m stuck, almost eternal, in your dark shadow light

Hue.

slam poetry
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Wow. Such a truly great piece of poetry. Fantastic use of word choice😊!

  • Omg! Loved the line 'And that my heartsong is drained into your colorless spite'. Such a stunning poem!

  • Talia Devora2 years ago

    Beautifully crafted!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    That felt like slam poetry!! And I loved this line, 'You like gray, it fits with your face.' Great work, I enjoyed the read :)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.