Poets logo

Dark

Quietly

By Gary Menzies-BrownePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I can’t hear them now

the lights have dimmed and the blankets heavy

I’ll wait until I hear the car door slam..

then watch the shadows as they move past my door-muffled

Leather soles that deep the stairs-they always scared me..

Nightmares that never left me-even in the brightness of day

But the darkness in which I hid-my cloak, my saviour

Held me safe in my dreams

and the loudness of dreams

drowned out the hideous screams

And I can’t hear them now....and anyway

-They never said their prayers

And they never said goodbye.

Can you say the same?

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.