Poets logo

Dark and Light

My bi-polar life

By Savannah Rose HannumPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The light

When I'm high,

my true colors shine and illuminate the night.

When I cycle down,

The lights go dim and darkness becomes my plight.

The darkness it feels heavy,

the brightness seems to blind,

I need to find the balance

Between my dark and light,

I'm tired of this pendulum,

I want to get off this ride.

I may fear the darkness,

But I don't want to lose my shine.

I'll take this medication,

To keep me grounded in this life.

I cannot help wanting to embrace the sparkling highs.

Yes the dark gets scary,

It's oppressive and it's thick,

Sometimes it feels like drowning,

I know it's sink or swim.

So far I just keep swimming,

Waiting for the high,

The brightness of those colors they'll keep me alive.

I didn't choose these hues,

The extremes of dark and light,

This may be my burden but also is my pride.

All of my bright colors, the prism that I ride.

If it wasn't for the crash I know I'd be just fine.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.