Poets logo

Dancing with the dock leaves

Dancing in the wind!

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
5

Dock leaves are a weed, you say?

I don’t care, they’re healing plants and they dance in the wind!

Swaying with them, following their moves in this little patch of land,

Trying to understand myself, mirroring the plants I see,

Rooted in my strength, reconciling with myself,

And feeling like there’s a reason to carry on!

Creating, and dancing and being myself,

Taking chances again, applying for roles in screen and on stage,

I’m hoping modelling will get better again!

Over the years I had lost my hope and light,

Not knowing there was still an ember waiting to be sparked!

~*~

Thank you for reading. This piece came to me after the last session of a movement-based mental health control group I was part of. Due to the nature of the research, I can’t say much about the sessions themselves, but I can talk about my own experience: after being suicidal for what has seemed like an eternity, and genuinely thinking that my acting and modelling days had come to an end, feeling unwanted, depleted and belittled, I found an advert asking for people to join a PhD research project which invited me to feel the fear and move anyway – so I did!

9 sessions later, one last little ember which had survived was sparked up again into a little flame, which I intend to nurture and grow into my creative passions again. The last session was an outdoor session, and the last exercise was to find something to mimic, have a dialogue with, and embody. A little patch of dock leaves had been calling out to me since we’d entered the clearing, especially when they danced in the wind, so I walked over to them an swayed away, and the rest you have just read!

If you like my writing, please consider leaving me a heart or a comment, subscribing to me, or making a donation towards my freelance artistic work.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm2 days ago

    ☺️👏 The research you were involved with sounds fascinating too! 👍

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I can only hope that you did get back into it, let your light shine!

  • Find something to mimic, that's a very fascinated exercise. I might wanna try it to. I'm so glad these sessions helped you ignite the little ember. Also, that poem was truly beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.