Poets logo

DANCING WITH SHADOWS.

Embracing the Mysteries of Darkness and Light

By Johnpaul Okwudili Published 6 days ago 2 min read
DANCING WITH SHADOWS.
Photo by Ardian Lumi on Unsplash

In the twilight hours,
when the sun dips below the horizon
and darkness tiptoes into the world,
shadows come alive.

They emerge from hidden corners,
stretching long and sinuous,
like ink spilled on a canvas,
painting the landscape in shades of gray.

I watch them dance,
silhouettes against the fading light,
graceful and elusive,
moving to a rhythm only they can hear.

Each shadow tells a story,
a whispered tale of forgotten dreams,
of memories etched in the fabric of time,
of secrets buried deep within.

They intertwine like lovers,
embracing in the embrace of the night,
their movements fluid and hypnotic,
a dance of contrasts and contradictions.

Sometimes they are playful,
chasing each other across the walls,
forming shapes that morph and shift,
eluding capture like fleeting thoughts.

Other times they are solemn,
casting long, solemn figures
that stretch into infinity,
echoing the weight of solitude.

I step into their midst,
a silent observer in their ballet,
feeling their cool embrace
as they swirl around me.

They beckon me to join them,
to lose myself in their depths,
to embrace the darkness
and the mysteries it holds.

I move with them,
my body a vessel for their expression,
my soul a mirror for their longing,
my spirit a companion in their journey.

Together we traverse the night,
exploring the realms of the unseen,
unraveling the threads of illusion,
embracing the beauty of the unknown.

In the dance of shadows,
I find liberation,
a release from the constraints of daylight,
a freedom to explore the depths of my being.

They whisper secrets in my ear,
echoes of ancient wisdom,
fragments of forgotten truths,
guiding me on paths unseen.

And as the night deepens,
and the stars shimmer overhead,
I surrender to the rhythm,
to the pulse of life that beats within.

For in the dance of shadows,
I discover myself anew,
unveiling layers of identity,
shedding masks of pretense.

They mirror my fears and desires,
reflecting back the complexities of existence,
illuminating the contours of my soul,
revealing the beauty in imperfection.

I embrace their darkness,
their mystery and allure,
knowing that within their depths
lies the essence of creation.

As dawn breaks,
and the shadows fade into daylight,
I carry their essence within me,
a reminder of the dance we shared,
of the truths we uncovered.

For in dancing with shadows,
I found not just darkness,
but the light that resides within,
the eternal flame of possibility.

So I continue to dance,
to move with grace and purpose,
to embrace the shadows
and the stories they tell.

For they are not just fleeting illusions,
but companions on my journey,
guides in the labyrinth of life,
reminding me that in darkness,
there is always a glimmer of light

If you find this piece interesting, please consider leaving a ❤️, or even a tip. Your support means a lot to me as a writer! You can also read more of my stories!.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Johnpaul Okwudili

POET

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Johnpaul Okwudili Written by Johnpaul Okwudili

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.