Poets logo

Dance With the Devil

by Bee

By Brenda DeherreraPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Dance With the Devil
Photo by Preillumination SeTh on Unsplash

One step, two step, twirl

We tango by the firelight,

Feet moving to a beat that

Never stops.

Trying to pull away, leads

Into a new song, it's an

Enticing feeling.

His hand on the small of

My back, his breath whispering

Sweet, sweet lies in my ear.

The fire light casting the softest of

An orange glow as he dips me in the

Pool of light.

His eyes flicker with the flames, his smile

Crooked but yet, so charming,

One step, two step, twirl.

I can't tell my left from right as

We sway like a swift breeze

Across the room.

He leads me further away from

The fire light, into an ink

Colored obyss.

And....

As the last if the light fades into

The distance,

My dance with the devils ends

As he leaves me standing alone

In an empty darkness.

One step, two step, twirl,

Our dance is done and

I am forever lost.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Brenda Deherrera

I'm just someone who loves to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great dancing poem! Euphoric! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.