Poets logo

Damon and Pythias / "A Good Friend"

Based on the renowned legend of Pythias and Damon, this poem attempts to consider such themes as loyalty and true friendship.

By ApogeePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Spencer Davis from Pexels

Troubled though I might have been that a king found me to blame,

I begged of the man for some time to see loved ones and kin.

This he refused, considering me untrustworthy to fulfill my claim.

Yet, I discovered solace when my companion bet his life against my skin.

And while I enjoyed my freedom away, my demise sprung closer by the day.

Till at last, a decision had to be made – the death of a friend, or mine for honor’s sake.

And all this time, while my spirit was in a state of tumultuous Indecision and decay,

Damon lay alone in a cell in Syracuse, a noble soul, he trusted I would not forsake.

At last, my soul stumbled upon its strength, I made my way to Syracuse by dawn.

My friend, they told me, had not doubted me - not for so much as a single minute.

Vindicated, no doubt he must have felt; through grateful to fate that he might live on.

I felt blessed to have such a noble and faithful friend, with courage that knows no limit.

The king, inspired by the selfless bravery of the soul and decision I felt compelled to enact,

Pardoned us both. I realized then, life is often not what defines us - but the threat of death in fact.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Apogee

Thanks for checking out my bio! What can I say? If you have read some of my work, I hope you liked it. Likewise, I relish the opportunity to discover some of the beautiful work done by my fellow writers. You guys are awesome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.