Poets logo

Dale and Thomas

Nana's find

By Jada FergusonPublished about a month ago β€’ 1 min read
1

The smell of the store so decadent-

The aroma danced on your tongue before you decided on a flavor-

I never heard an argument-

Or saw a sour face there-

Pleasantries bounced off of everyone-

-

In Dale and Thomas-

My brain forgot about the Broadway play I was about to see-

And I couldn't hear the commotion of Times Square-

-

In Dale and Thomas-

Next to my Nana-

We were in a small town-

Whose only attraction was this gourmet popcorn-

-

She found this treasure-

In the magical way she must've found all the gems she exposed us to-

I'm not a Nana-

So I don't know the ways they spur greatness in their minds-

I can't decipher how they formulate traditions from a feeling-

-

All I know is she chose the Peanut Butter & White Chocolate DrizzleCorn-

And that's the only flavor I ever had from Dale and Thomas-

An exquisite even measured balance of sweet and salty-

The crunchiness and the silkiness was a duet for the ages

It felt too elevated for my young taste buds-

Too special for any occasion-

-

The Peanut Butter & White Chocolate DrizzleCorn was the good china that never gets set at the table-

The wedding dress that stays protected in a garment bag at the back of the closet-

That one song that is the anthem to a memory that makes the water fall over the cliffs of your eyes-

-

I would wrestle with giddy energy and pregnancy-level craving

To guarantee that the experience was savored-

-

It was the only snack I consciously took my time to enjoy-

And it was still gone too soon-

GratitudeFamily
1

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tamika Montgomeryabout a month ago

    This is what Nana did for all of us. Exposed us to great treasures while teaching us life lessons.πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.