Poets logo

Dad where art thou?

Growing up Without a Dad

By Toni CrawfordPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
From my book: Flowing From my heart (Poetry From my Childhood and Adulthood)

Where were you dad when I was being born? Were you out with some woman who was assigned to you as a whore?

Since you been gone, mom did just fine raising me on her own. I admit it wasn’t easy for her, but “You gotta have faith” became her theme song.

It hurts me dad, because no matter what, you’re still a part of me. A part that I may never have the chance to see.

Why was I punished because you never loved my mom, but only what she could give? She was too good for you and I didn’t ask to be here.

You didn’t just neglect mom, you neglected me. I don’t understand why you chose to fall into a category called Dead Beat.

Are you happy about the man you’ve become? Was making Love something you did only for fun?

Well, the crazy thing is that I still hope someday you’ll grow up and take care of your responsibilities because running away from your daughter, shows a sign of immaturity.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Toni Crawford

I’m married, Christian, down to earth, from the City and I published one book of poetry. That’s enough about me 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.