Poets logo

Cursed (this) City

trips into town do this to me

By Brenton FPublished 9 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
34
Image by crAIyon.com

i searched the lonely backstreets

of a thousand cursed cities

all full to the very brim

of their own emptiness

wasted platitudes and cries

fallen on ears

not deaf

just not willing to hear

hopes and dreams

litter the ground

skewered by homelessness

alcoholism and addiction

like the salting of fertile land

of ages ago

i was looking for something

i knew

iโ€™d never find

it was something

i had to look for

my objectives were unclear

but my resolve was steadfast

so i kept my head

higher than my spirits

i hunted

i searched

i looked

hoping

wanting

needing

to find something

anything

just a small piece

of anywhere

but here

.

.

Exploited - Dead Cities

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetry
34

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    Wow. This was deep. I liked it a lot!

  • Trista Harrison9 months ago

    Great work! It captures the essence of being the lost and forgotten of society and clinging to the hope for something, anything, to happen; to be seen and heard for who you are.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Great job Brenton! Congrats on your top story.

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Oh, man. This one hits hard! Very well done!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Awesome piece, Brenton! Thoroughly enjoy your style! ๐Ÿ’ซ

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Fantastic piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Tressa Rose9 months ago

    This was great!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    Excellent job here very deep message about active listening beyond the scope of your own responses

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is so well written. The ending was especially powerful. Congrats on top story Brendon!

  • Brin J.9 months ago

    "fallen on ears not deaf just not willing to hear" it says so much about society. the neglect. the ignorance. the preference of being purposefully blind rather than seeing the world's problems.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    "just a small piece of anything but here." ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Excellent! Loved your poem. And congrats!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Uncompromising look at urban muck, so well done. Don't know if small towns improve it at all though. .. in any case, congratulations!

  • Joelle E๐ŸŒ™9 months ago

    I FELT this. Ive been a solitary city wanderer before. Epic expression of feeling ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

  • C.S LEWIS9 months ago

    great work why cant you join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    "Salting of fertile land" - excellent imagery and narrative. TS! ๐Ÿ…

  • anywhere but here...does such a destination exist?

  • Oh my goodness, this was so freaking relatable! Loved your poem!

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    I agree with L.C. that I feel like I know where you're going sometimes with these pieces and yet you always surprise me. "Anywhere but here" landed hard for me. Always love your work :)

  • L.C. Schรคfer9 months ago

    Is it bad that sometimes your pieces remind me of Tairri B ๐Ÿค” Couldn't even tell you why. Maybe the way you write a line and I think it means something, and then, with the next line, youve changed that meaning to something else.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.