Poets logo

Curse the Cursor

Writer's Block... my old nemesis

By Mohammed DarasiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Curse the Cursor
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I feel it creeping at me, every now and then

Am I really gonna fall for this and drop the pen?

The first time it happened I stopped writing and fell

Into the hole that is contentment, where I was chilling with my thoughts

For years I wanted to move, but the thoughts never thawed

For years I wanted to move, but the mind was very taut

Pulled in many ways, it never had slack for more

To write down the thoughts, it just felt like a chore

So I continued to push down, and I thought it was done for.

-

But then I came back and just started once more

To write: stories, poetry and articles galore

The mind wants to release its internals

Ideas and thoughts into paper or journals

My mind continues to think for no reason

So I need to give it a place to breathe in

And release the boundless knowledge in my mind!

Maybe I’m inflating

But seriously, not writing feels like treason

To myself. My mind shackled and beaten

Wanting to breathe, but me never heeding

The outcries from within, forever beating

-

Now, even if I’m feeling tired and lazy at night

I will open up Word and just start to write

Something will come out

Hopefully coherent and maybe ignite

My passion for writing

So if you’re feeling like the blank Word page is mocking you

I say Curse the Cursor and just push through

Because your mind will find a way to pull through

Slowly

May you and your mind be satisfied wholly.

how toinspirational

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Kelsey Clarey5 months ago

    This is very relateable and very good advice!

  • I love it. Thank you for the inspiration!!!

  • Rene Peters11 months ago

    Very well written!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Well said!

  • I'm so glad you started writings again and thank you so much for this uplifting poem!

  • Matthew Frommabout a year ago

    This was the motivation I needed.

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.