Poets logo

Current of Life

A Poem Inspired by Early Morning Canoeing

By Lisi L.Published 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
*I do not own anything on this video at all*

Morning current, no match for me

Paddle against it, paddle, paddle, paddle

Rest on the water, go with the flow

Wherever the water takes me, that’s where I’ll go

Noontime current, tougher than it seems

Paddle a little harder, row, row, row

Go down the canal? No, too dangerous

Keep paddling, look! you’ve got it

Paddle to the middle, safe between the lines

Nighttime current, impossible on my own

Down the canal I go, a dark, creepy scene

Cries for help to get me out, please don’t let me die

Midnight current, stranded by myself

No sign of life . . . till death do us part

Wait a minute, what’s that I see?

A bright light coming closer, closer

Too bright to see, but it’s headed my way

Help me please, rescue me

I’ll do whatever you say

As long as you save me from this dark, cold place

Command me what you want, I’ll take my best shot

I can’t do it alone, will you help me?

Lifetime current, smooth as silk

I’ll do it myself, don’t need any help

I live for me, all for me

Who else should I live for?

My life is mine, not anyone else

Lifetime current, problems here or there

More hours at work, I’ve got it good

Hang with them? I’m not that dumb

Paying bills, working hard, Look! I’m doing fine

Lifetime current, with the wrong crowd

No thanks I say, no, no, no

Come with us and you’ll be fine, you can trust us with your life

They reeled me in, I had no choice

I hope to stay alive

Lifetime current, left beaten to the curb

No one around me, all are gone, dark, cold, damp

A sound in the distance, lights flash bright

Too bright to see, but it’s headed my way

Voices all around me, someone’s here to rescue

Hands come down and scoop me up, someone heard my cry

You kept me alive and You saved my life

I know my life isn’t just mine, it belongs to another guy too

Command me what you want, O Lord, I’ll do anything you say

I’ll give it my best shot, but if l need help, will you guide me?

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lisi L.

A young writer, nonprofessional, simply for the sake of expression and sharing bits and pieces of life with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.