Poets logo

Cuffed To Hustle

Working

By Nomfundo GumedePublished about a month ago 2 min read
4
Cuffed To Hustle
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

Work, work, work, work, work, work.

No, not quite like the famous Caribbean song.

Well, it can be for you, to each his own, right?

Work

It has a way of taking a lot from you,

Without really asking,

Without even…refilling what’s been emptied.

Where do you feel “worked”?

What do feel when you feel “worked”?

I like to think of work as meeting ‘The Creator’ halfway.

I like to think of work as

faith.

That if

I

move just so, and

I

exert my energy in this way,

The desired manifestation will materialise.

So then;

What if there was a substitute for work?

What if we could make it fun,

Without compromising on the quality of the outputs?

Would you still be drawn to “work”

Or

Would it suddenly turn you off?

If work requires faith, then is not work just the process of manifesting our desires?

That should be an enthralling and exciting experience.

Why are we making it tedious?

So, here is what I propose;

What if we (you and I) could just enjoy work?

Or better yet - rename it; call it “play”!

So instead of “workshops”

We do “playshops”!

I cannot speak for you, but manifesting is fun for me!

It lights me up…

Sets me in the mood

Gives me joy and a purpose.

Thus;

If I am working, and work is just manifesting,

I will go through all the

swings and sways

of the task with a wicked and savagely fierce smile!

I deserve to be happy.

I deserve to do work.

I deserve to let it be fun!

My call to you (no pressure of course);

Ask yourself this;

Where can I make work and life fun this week?

Or maybe, if you cannot take on an ask that big,

Just take it day-by-day,

Then keep in mind; you are always welcome here,

And we can celebrate the craziness of it all!

Stream of ConsciousnessMental HealthinspirationalGratitudeFree VerseFor Fun
4

About the Creator

Nomfundo Gumede

I enjoy writing; engaging through story-telling.

I have found my stress-reliever and ended up falling back in love with a part I had forgotten about myself - Expression.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • “M”about a month ago

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.