Poets logo

Crypt

A Pauper's Prayer

By Veronica ColdironPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
8
Personal Photo take in Memphis Cemetery

The stench of shadows long since gone,

Creep solemnly among these walls.

A diamond cut within the stones,

Buries some rich person

Here, no doubt.

Stone cutters lent no attention back then

To fashioning stone for lesser men.

No bricks beneath, just solid work,

Pleasing a family of aristocrats

Who valued it by cost.

Kept up to this day, though dark and wet,

Rats scurry in like trespassers.

Collages of skeletal remains suggest

Someone might have been buried alive,

But history is inconclusive.

Scraping among the shaded walls

Firelight wears thin from torches

As I find her sitting here in ugliness.

There aren’t jewels upon her crown…

Only wormed holes in graying ivory.

Long white hair replacing auburn,

A hallowed stare that sees no light…

No longer a Matriarch of higher caste,

In concomitance with insects

She’s my personal queen of pests.

My conjecture has always been

That we are buried as we have lived.

No flowers are placed within a tomb,

No one drops by on holidays

To say I loved you when…

So give me a pauper’s grave my friend,

Where my sweeties can oft drop by,

To shoot the breeze in soft refrain

Or tell me through sunshine and the rain…

Remember me? I loved you when…

The end?

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I'll take the pauper 's grave too. The house with skeletons creeps me out a bit. Well done! Especially loved this line "That we are buried as we have lived. "❤️ and subscribed

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    A good, and thoughtful read - I can feel it - nice work!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. This is excellent. Love it.

  • This is a wonderful poem, loved the atmosphere

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Gorgeous! Your language was rich and decadent. I loved this line especially, "Firelight wears thin from torches As I find her sitting here in ugliness." I'll take a pauper's grave too. Well done :)

  • This was mindblowing! Loved the imageries! So beautifully written!

  • Deasun T. Smyth2 years ago

    good job Veronica! love reading your stories.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.