Poets logo

Cryogenically Surprised

"Refrigerator Heaven" meets "Cold Ethel"

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

there's a girl in my fridge

i don’t know how she got there

wedged in next to an old lettuce

a flat bottle of coke

and some out of date pita bread

now i have no room

for half the pizza left over

from dinner

i look around the room

for a covert film crew

you know

like one of those horrendous

practical joke shows

i mean come on...

...who puts a girl in a fridge

last week there was a poodle

in my pantry

unexpected yes

but not entirely

impossible

or outside

the realms

of possibility

pantry poodling

is huge

all the cool kids

are doing it

i check for a pulse

faint but steady

maybe she got lost

or fell

and somehow

landed in my fridge

so

i have a girl

asleep or possibly comatose

in my fridge

i click my fingers

i yell

"HEY YOU IN MY FRIDGE!"

nothing

not a peep

she is still

in my fridge

i'm a bit miffed really

she is in the way

of the pastrami

i saw gonna have

for lunch

so now

it's bloody vegemite again

surreal poetrysocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I hearted

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Reminds me of Eraserhead and the girl by the radiator.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.