Poets logo

Crossroads

A Poem on Making Choices

By Michelle LiewPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Crossroads
Photo by Antonio Feregrino on Unsplash

Today’s post rings poignantly.

Crossroads. I dislike navigating them, and I guess that so do you. They can be overwhelming because one simply doesn’t know which path is safest. I’ve recently arrived at one, and the feeling isn’t comfortable.

How do I know that I have come to a crossroads? Your circumstances change. There is a feeling of discomfort and uncertainty, and you know that you have to decide so that you can move forward.

I will move ahead. But how? I have found the need for reflection uncomfortable, though the prospect is. I have had to clarify my options, and evaluate them. Finally, I weighed them, and decided where, and how, to walk.

Enjoy these Senryus. They have the 575 Haiku format, but aren’t about nature….rather, they embrace life’s circumstances.

Roads meet in a cross

Direction so uncertain

Hazy the one to walk

Brief stop at the cross

Unclear, need to see the road

Forge paths ahead

Paths ahead appear’

Seen after long rain has cleared

The eyes locked on the road

Path bumpy, new laid

Legs ache with the walk

But clear skies in front.

Whic

inspirational

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michelle LiewWritten by Michelle Liew

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.