Poets logo

Crossing the Boundary of Darkness

What if we can explore the deep sea and its wonderful life?

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
9
Crossing the Boundary of Darkness
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

Illusory manifestations

In the forefront of my mind

Sounds echoing in a distance

I hear the abyss calling me

Drifting in nothingness

The light projecting the sky’s likeness

-

I’m slipping further through

The boundary of light and darkness

I slowly see my body swallowed in it

No longer visible

Forever seems divisible

From my body

-

Darkness is climbing up to meet me

With loneliness it greets me

Isolating and dreary

The chaos is deafening…

The last light is glistening…

Signalling my surrender

-

The veil of darkness seems heavy

Shrouding everything within

Loneliness levied against all beings

So close, yet so far

Livelihood so bizarre

Cut-off from all around

Blackness is abound

A different world hidden

A world with no sun light

Where life thrives in-spite

Of immense pressure

From above, below, and all sides in tow

The magnificence of life never ceases to amaze

But life tends to act up and glaze

Our vision… with problems so slight

When compared to the world

But to us seem like a plight

When faced with them we curl

-

The metal is creaking and water flowing in

I never wanted to forfeit my life in this tin

Scrambling with tools and button pressing

I was overtaken by my gaze that I’d forgotten

On the ocean I’m intruding and I’m about to be trodden

With massive pressure and weight its impressing

Upon my sub, the true power of nature

Reminding me that this world is beyond my reach for now

An imposter in an alien world

Of wonderful and dark existence

nature poetrysurreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Mohammed, this is a beautiful exploration with vivid and deep imagery!! Loved this concept, and so well written!! Amazing job!!! 💫💞

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Mohammed, this was such a great conceptual piece! I liked your descriptive language and the foreboding feeling it gave the poem! Great work here!

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Great words of imagery in this poem 👏👍

  • A world with no sunlight and defeaning chaos. It calls upon my name. I felt such a strong magnetic pull from your poem!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Great flow! And I loved the overall message. Thanks for sharing.

  • harry henry9 months ago

    Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.