Poets logo

Crisp Spring Rolls

A sonnet to a Chinese Delicacy

By Michelle LiewPublished about a month ago 1 min read
4
Crisp Spring Rolls
Photo by Eranjan on Unsplash

My Chinese ancestry and love for things meatless prompt me to pay tribute to a favourite Chinese delicacy, savoury spring rolls. 

These delights, filled with turnips, carrots, or bamboo shoots, complete many Chinese meals. Flavorful and utterly delightful, these are 24-hour snacks. Yes, we literally eat them at any time of the day. Though vegetarian, chefs fry deep them in hot oil, so they are best eaten soon after frying. 

Enjoy this sonnet to spring rolls.

 All rolled up, crisp, they crackle

White shreds atop orange strips

On the tongue, so palatable

Once bitten, saliva drips

Rolls now merged with lava hot

A taste at once unforgettable

Looks, without substance, it is not

A delight, if forgone, is regrettable

Dish for breakfast, lunch or dinner

Not far from slippery tongue

For want of roll, will not be thinner

But for satisfaction is well won

Crisp spring rolls, a snack delight

For a taste, one will take flight. 

inspirationalSonnet
4

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    Spring rolls are one of the best surprises when they are hand-made by a friend raised in a family who knows what they are doing. I am very leary of restaurant spring rolls after being spoiled by Vietnamese and Thai friends. I hope you entered the snack challenge!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omggg yessss, its best eaten right after frying! Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Lovely - makes me want some now! I also like the “fresh” ones that aren’t fried (maybe those are Thai?). 😋

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Fun. I hated spring rolls as a child. Probably time I revisited them.

  • Anna about a month ago

    You really made me curious and now I wanna taste these rolls😭

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.